It has come to our attention that the Sacramento Board of Supervisors and Sacramento City Council will be considering a resolution to dissolve the SHRA JPA next Tuesday, 6/18.

The Sacramento Housing Alliance has deep concerns about this action without a thoughtful, intentional planning process, including significant community engagement, regarding the pros/cons of such an action.

Our Housing Authority is in the middle of a Housing Choice Voucher crisis and to have this significant distraction would only serve to hurt low income tenants. Additional time sensitive issues include the redevelopment boomerang funds and the homeless funds SHRA manages.

Additionally, the state legislature is considering a legislative fix to redevelopment, and it seems premature to talk about dissolving SHRA/JPA until the future of this legislation is clear.

At the very least the Board of Supervisors, and the City Council, should consider holding a series of workshops on this issue to consider the ramifications of such an action.


Call/email the Mayor, your City Council Member and your County Supervisor to express your concerns about this rash proposal. There needs to be full community dialogue about this important issue as opposed to a rush to dissolve the SHRA JPA. Please see the list below for contact information for your local elected officials.

Mayor and City Council Members
Find your City Councilmember: Click here and enter your zip code at the top of the page.

Mayor Kevin Johnson
(916) 808-5300
Email the Mayor

Councilmember Angelique Ashby
Vice Mayor
District 1
(916) 808-7001

Councilmember Allen Warren
District 2
(916) 808-7002

Councilmember Steve Cohn
District 3
(916) 808-7003

Councilmember Steve Hansen
District 4
(916) 808-7004

Councilmember Jay Schenirer
District 5
(916) 808-7005

Councilmember Kevin McCarty
District 6
(916) 808-7006

Councilmember Darrell Fong
District 7
(916) 808-7007

Councilmember Bonnie Pannell
District 8
(916) 808-7008

County Supervisors
Find your County Supervisor: Click here and enter your street name and number.

Supervisor Phil Serna
District 1
(916) 874-5485

Supervisor Jimmie Yee
District 2
Vice Chair
(916) 874-5481

Supervisor Susan Peters
District 3
(916) 874-5471

Supervisor Roberta MacGlashan
District 4
(916) 874-5491

Supervisor Don Nottoli
District 5
(916) 874-5465